BYYB Forums

Full Version: Is BIGGER better?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2

Mark Keyser

Short Introduction. I built Weekender Shambala starting in Oct, 2000, and launching in May, 2003. True to its name, I worked mostly on the weekends, thus the relatively long build time. It was also good for my pocket book, paying as I go. I started out as a woodworker thinking "...Oh. There's an interesting aspect of woodworking." I am a woodworker first, and still learning to sail.

I built very close to the plans, without straying or improvising much at all, although some details took some time to resolve. I attribute that to my own desire to know before hand whether or not things would work out. I'm conservative that way. I don't like to move forward until the way is cleared in my mind.

I have the pleasure of reporting that every single time I have taken my Weekender out these past couple years, I have received multiple compliments from passers-by. I owe those compliments to Stevenson Projects for developing the plans (thank you very much), and perhaps to my execution of those plans. I absolutely love the details: The bow sprit, gaff rig, taff rail, splash coamings, trail boards, rub rails, wooden spars, all details not normally encountered on "modern" boats, thus the compliments.

I've found the Weekender to be a "fair-waters" boat. I took Shambala out on Michigan's Lake St. Clair (about 25 miles across) once in a 1 foot chop and had a rough time hanging on let alone sailing. I could not keep her into the wind while hoisting the sails. She always wanted to go broad side. I've since stayed on smaller lakes in fairer weather. Perhaps this indicates I am more of a woodworker and less of a sailor.