BYYB Forums

Full Version: real canvas sails
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3 4

Andrew Sullivan

Hi everyone, I'm a newbie. I'll be building a vacationer as soon as I'm done moving.I've searched the archives for my question but I couldn't find any info. Has anyone tried using Home Depo white canvas painter's tarps as sails? I know stretching of the canvas can be a problem but how serious? I've got a sewing machine and I'm not afraid of sewing my fingers together. I'd prefer to stay away from plastic because I'm after a more traditional, salty look.Thanks.Andy
Hi Andrew.
Welcome to the madness! It becomes infectious without warning. :lol:
There are a lot of challenges to face when building a boat for the first time. The choice of sails and the cost is a significant factor. Traditionally canvas was used and it worked but with a lot of caveats attached to it. The canvas was heavy, far heavier than you would want on about the size of the Vacationer. It doesn't maintain its shape for long, it stretches out quickly. Get them wet and they are really stretched out quickly and unless they are totally dried out before storing it away will begin to mildew and weaken from rot quite quickly. They are hard to keep clean and once they begin to weaken they rip rather quickly. Re-enforcing the seams, adding patches and corner re-reinforcements are critical to make them strong enough to hold up to the stresses imposed upon the corners. Grommets pull out of canvas easier than in poly tarp or Dacron or other sail making materials. That is one of the reasons they were all sewn in traditionally. You may want to get hold of a copy of "The Sailmaker's Apprentice. Good information and you may change your mind.