BYYB Forums

Full Version: Mast Box ???
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
After reading the posts about inherent rot problems due to water getting trapped in the mast box, I am wondering, can I skip the box and just attach the mast stump directly?? I am coming up to that part in my build so this is the time to ask. What is the advantage of being able to remove the mast stump? If there is no real advantage, I may just attach the stump directly which I assume would make it easier to seal where it penetrates the deck.
But, I'm a newbie, so please point out any error in my thinking.

Steven.
(S/V Skye - Launch Spring 2007)
Hmm, good question. Strength to the structure of the deck, mast adjustment? I have lag bolted mine into the box, because I got tired of the base moving. I've rarely taken the mast base out, generally once a season to check for rot.

And the mast opening is a trouble spot for collecting moisture, although I've seen some cleaver boot arangements to keep water out. I'm for drilling larger holes to let the box breath, as a preventative measure for now.

Building up the area to substitute the mast box could be done in my opinion. I have never put a forward hatch on my Vacationer's foredeck, because the resident mermaid wanted lounging area. I had to beef up the under deck to take my heavy weighted self for when I'm up forward too.

The mast base is raised on my boat, but I still don't feel the need to take it out when I trailer. In fact, my boom is below the hinge, like on the Weekenders to make a neater package. The plans call for the goose neck above the hinge in the Vacationer plans.

Maybe some one will come up with a few cons, but I can't think of any except the old, don't change it until you try it. I think this modification stands to be addressed though, an improvement can't hurt and easier to implement from the beginning.