BYYB Forums

Full Version: reposting - steering modification
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I originally posted this in the "Shop Tips, Jigs, and Modifications" folder but didn't get any responses, so I'll repost it here where there seems to be a lot more action.

As I am getting close to putting the sides on my weekender, I want to get a few projects done that seem like they would be easier with the sides off.
The foremost being the steering.
I really like the modification done by Terry Crisp.

http://groups.msn.com/SandbarsandDriftwo...ngmod.msnw

Basically, rather than cutting a hole for the short tiller to enter the transom, he used two "through the deck" blocks and . . . well, it's easier to just look at the website.
This seems to simplify the steering while still maintaining the salty looking wheel.
Has this been discussed here in the past?
It looks pretty straight forward to me, but I'm a newbie to sailing.
Any pros or cons would be greatly appreciated.
Cheers,
Steven.
He is happy with his modification. I've seen similar arrangements on other boats and the owners have had good success with it. Simple enough to do and easy to maintain. And no, you don't need the turnbuckles on both sides. I would probably keep one on one side or the other as tying off the line to an eye is always a bit of a slippery slope to me anyway.

The primary concern I have with lines entering the transom is that there are lines outside that can get fouled. You also might think abit about mounting an outboard and possible issues with fouling up things there. With an electric trolling motor probably no issues, but if you end up with a gas ouboard for the salt water areas around here, you might find it a hassle. Or not! Just think ahead a bit.