BYYB Forums

Full Version: steering modifications
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
As I am getting close to putting the sides on my weekender, I want to get a few projects done that seem like they would be easier with the sides off.
The foremost being the steering.
I really like the modification done by Terry Crisp.

http://groups.msn.com/SandbarsandDriftwo...ngmod.msnw

Basically, rather than cutting a hole for the short tiller to enter the transom, he used two "through the deck" blocks and . . . well, it's easier to just look at the website.
This seems to simplify the steering while still maintaining the salty looking wheel.
Has this been discussed here in the past?
It looks pretty straight forward to me, but I'm a newbie to sailing.
Any pros or cons would be greatly appreciated.
Cheers,
Steven.

Adam Plourde

I can't comment on his method since I haven't seen it in person. I will say that the wheel as drawn isn't as tricky as you would think. I did change things a bit by drilling two holes in the top of the lazarette area and putting in those plastic access covers that West Marine sells for not too much money. That made access to the insides easy enough where instead of having the bolts go threw the side of the bolt to adjust things, I instead built a wooden bracket on the inside which I attached the stearing lines to with small turnbuckles. I wish I had a picture to explain it; but it works like a champ.
Has anyone tried using a worm gear, or perhaps a gear and quadrant system for these boats?

Seem to me if it could be made to fit it would take the slop out of the system.

Dave G.