BYYB Forums

Full Version: electric inboard / outboards?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
just saw a neat story on youtube about a guy in seattle that had the diesel removed from his 27' catalina and replaced with an electric inboard. short version is that it would give him about 1.5 hours at 5knts, around 5 hours at 4.5knts without a charge. the installer told him that he would recharge his batteries to full power if he sailed at 3-4knts for around 8 hours because of the system set up to send energy from the spinning prop back into the batteries. 

looking online i see there are alot of products out there for inboard / outboard electric motors. has anyone looked into this? i think i'd sure consider it on a daysailer / inland cruiser. so many of the real frustrating engine issues would be eliminated. (i think) i'm no expert but the tech seems to be really interesting

obviously batteries are the big weight / cost issue but they are changing so fast now that it makes it possible
Yes, you can use electric to power small craft, but the same issues always apply; range, weight, recharge time and speed. For example, the Catalina 27 has a displacement speed of about 7 knots, so his full speed under electric is about 30% less than his theoretical hull speed. The Catalina 27 is well shaped, so it can do better than it's normal hull speed, so actually even less under electric. I seriously doubt a spinning prop under sail can charge a battery bank in 8 hours under sail alone. A plug into a wall charger would take the better part of a day and the self generation portion of a dragged prop, is way less efficient than a dedicated 120 or 240 VDC charger.