BYYB Forums

Full Version: Cold weather construction
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Greetings,
I am thinking of building the Stevensons Weekender sailboat. I have no construction experience. I will certainly have some questions if I choose to build this sailboat and I am glad to have found this forum.
Before I decide if this is my new hobby I did have a couple of questions about construction. I live in northern New-Brunswick, Canada and we have some cold winters.
Can I construct this boat in the cold?
I have unheated garages with gravel floors and I am hoping these will be adequate for construction?
Does marine grade plywood, warp or shrink in the cold?
I have never worked with wood so these maybe newbie questions.
Thank You. Mariette
Welcome aboard.

Northern builders out weigh the more temperate climate builders by a huge margin, so yes, you can build in the cold. Of course, it's helpful to have some control of the building environment, if only so you can feel your hands in the process, but cutting lumber and driving screws are still the same deal in the cold. I'm at the other end of the spectrum and need to control the heat most of the time, but in cold weather I use heaters and maybe a tarp over the work to keep the heat contained in the area. The same is true of warm, where I'll rig a window A/C unit to cool the area, under a tarp, say prior to applying paint (for instance).

Working with adhesives and coatings will be the most challenging in the cold, as these products usually have minimum temperature requirements. For example, paint can take forever to dry when it's too cold for the vehicle to flash off or getting glues to setup, etc.