BYYB Forums

Full Version: barber hauler for weekender
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Now that I have a lapper that I am happy with, I have begun to think about a barber hauler to help me adjust the shape of it.  I think I have a good and simple way to rig one (actually two),  but I am wondering if it is worth the bother.  My Compac 16 has a five foot genoa track which helps control the shape of the fore sail and I am learning the value of that on that particular boat.  I am just beginning to play around with it, but I do understand the rationale behind it.  In the case of the Weekender, I wonder if the fine tuning of the fore sail will result in a noticeable improvement.  I know that Keith S has a defacto barber hauler on his boat by virtue of the jib sheet  block sliding up and down his turnbuckle, so what about it Keith?  Has anyone rigged a barber hauler system on their Weekender?

Al
I've been curious about a bigger head sail for light winds. I'd like to see pictures of yours. Ryerson has concocted something as well.

I can't claim any cleverness with my set-up. When I got rid of the club boom and rigged my jib properly I didn't have any fittings that were appropriate so I just made some rope loops to secure the blocks to the bottom of the shrouds. I just kind of noticed off and on that the sail had a better shape on some points of sail when it was allowed to pull the loop up over the turnbuckle. Close-hauled, the sheet tension holds it down and on reaches the sail fills more and pulls the loop up higher. I don't know if it's doing any good or not, I just haven't bothered to fix it because it seems like the sail flies better like that anyway.