BYYB Forums

Full Version: perfect timing!
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2

Rob McKinney

This will be an awesome addition to this board... I will be launching soon and will really need some insight as I am a novice sailor.
thanks for thinking of this addition suspect it will help retain members after building completed.
Rob, you're just what we're aiming at. Many of the builders are beginners, like yourself and it's nice to have a place to "vent" or explore options (after you've calmed down), maybe just for some advise on launching the boat solo for the first time. It can be sort of scary with the newness of it all, but rest assured, you're not alone. We all have gotten the shakes, or had mother nature place some respect in our hearts, because we over sheeted in a gust. You'll live through it and if anything like me, will get beat on the head a few times as you learn (hopfully not) and increase your skills.
You'll be hearin' from me, I'm sure. Should be launching in about two months, will be down to the rigging in about three weeks, I hope. Then the novice-esque questions will flow....seemingly without end Tongue
ok - maybe Bill told you about our scary moment! :lol: it wasn't that bad except it was darn windy and the steering on Morgaine is just too loose and unresponsive - We got hit with a gust this last weekend that resulted in a bit of a 'moment' - but, I let the sheet out and steered the best I could out of it...and then gave up - went up and dropped the main until the nasty little desert squall passed. Desert Lakes get some nasty wind in the spring - I am curious how people handle this - generally it comes out of nowhere. In fact at one point when Bill and I were trying to go wing and wing - or at the very least downhill - we found it nearly impossible because of the shifting wind....

i am all ears.

a.