BYYB Forums

Full Version: The almost right keel and a question
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.

mikespeare

I'm building a Weekender in half of my smallish 2 car garage in Stow, Ohio. I have very limited woodworking experience and this is my first project of this type. Because of tight working conditions I had to cut out all the major pieces of the boat before asembly. There just was not enough room to cut and assemble the keel then cut and mount the hull bottom and still have room to loft and cut anything else. I started with the keel and did not listen to the advice given about blade selection. I used the standard blade that came with the saw. This combined with the fact that I have only used a skill saw once or twice before caused me to have 3 very unequal keel layers. I glued them together (I had to use Gorrila Glue as it was too cold for other glues) and took a belt sander to them to flatten out the top of the keel to give me a nice smooth surface to attache the hull bottom. Surprisingly after this was done my keel length came out perfect right down to the 1/8th. The angle on the stern was exact as well. The problem that I do have is that my deadwood is about 1/2 inch too low. It's glued on and would be extremly difficult to replace.
I had thought about taking off 1/2 inch on the bow to give me the proper measurement from the bottom of the keel to the top of the bow. Can anyone think of any issues with doing this? Is there any other consideration I should be taking into acccount? I would appreciate any input.
As a side note I got the proper blade for doing the rest of the cuts and they are much more consistent.
Best Regards
Mike Speare
Mike,

Welcome to the madness - why don't you just add another layer to the deadwood to make it the correct height.

mikespeare