BYYB Forums

Full Version: 'Rocky' Start (long)
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Greetings Gang!

Until now I’ve been a kayak and canoe builder.  A while back I decided I needed a sailboat.  I looked at numerous designs and read all I could about them and others.  I discovered this and a few other boatbuilding forums, and bought a set of plans for a Vacationer. 

After reading of the keel modifications that Ryerson Clark had done to his boat, a Weekender, and hearing how pleased he was with it, I decided I wanted to modify the keel of my Vacationer in a similar fashion.  I tracked down Paul Riccelli aka PAR from Riccelli Yacht Design and asked if he would be so kind as to help design a modified keel for my Vacationer, he agreed to help me out.  We discussed specs such as how much draft I could live with and the waters I would be sailing in most often, I asked about ballast and floatation, and about widening the stern after seeing info in an earlier post on how this might make the boat sail better.  After numerous exchanges I received a very nice keel design with the draft I was looking for.