BYYB Forums

Full Version: V Bottom on Triad / Reefing Lateen Sails
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi All,

I tried doing a seach for these things, but was unable to find anything much...but I am still new at this, so please forgive me if I am repeating a question already asked...

I have built a triad, with the lateen rig as per the plans. Firstly I must say that I love the lateen sail, my only previous sailing has been with a balanced lug rig on an 8' pram dinghy I built at the end of last year to learn to sail in (prior to this all my experience has been with motor boats and canoes)... While I like the balanced lug, the lateen manages to have even less lines, which I like! I am all for simplicity where boats are concerned. My opinion is that the less moving parts it has, the less places something can go wrong...

My reason for posting here, is that I have noticed that the triad is very slow coming about, presumably because of the keel, and a few weeks ago I found the sail wanting to capsize me faster than the boat would come about (I let go of the mainsheet, and stayed upright, with only a sail pointing in the wrong direction, but that was after I dipped a gunnel in the water). Got me thinking about reef points for the lateen sail. Has anyone out there put reef points on a lateen sail before, and if so, how? Do you think it was worth it (ie, is it a difficult job to reef in comparison to other sail types)? Or do you think I should consider a different type of sail that is easier to reef? Or should I just wait for a calmer day to sail?  Smile