BYYB Forums

Full Version: Windsurfing Sails for Superskipjack?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Ok,  Tracked down a couple of used Windsurfers.  No easy feat in Montana.    I've got 2 15' fiberglass masts for my mast and boom.    In the deal I got 3 sails.    The nicest is 14 x 8'.    I was thinking of possibly piecing two together for the main sail but I'm not so sure how well that would turn out.    Should I just use the sail "as is" for the main sail and trim another one down for the jib?    I have zero sailing experience as a captain but I don't think it should be too hard to set this up "Marconi style"?  instead of the Gaff rig.    Or vice versa convert to a Gaff later if on.      The blue sail is in the worst shape with plastic pealing off one side.      If I don't use these then I'm probably going polytarp.  ...Sorry had to throw the truck in as it's the 1st time I've really used the roof rack Smile.
Hi!
i'm also building a sskipjack, hope to be in the water the end of this month. i'd probably go polytarp/gaff rig. the sail area will be way smaller with that sail. i ordered my trap from tarps plus went with this one : http://www.tarpsplus.com/clear-poly-tarps-singles.html
i think it'll look great.

how is your build going?

bob
I built a Triad.  I wanted to build the SSjack but the plans were nto available at the time.  I ended up with regular SS plans and opted for the Triad instead.  I went with a poly tarp sail also and ordered from the same place as Bob.  I am in Billings.  Where are you in Montana?