BYYB Forums

Full Version: looking for advice on paint, primers, etc
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
before i attach the sides of my hull, i want to paint/prime the areas i won't be able to reach later,
any suggestions about the type of paint best used over epoxy, and also, anyone know if 3m 5200 is paintable or should it go on over paint? i have a couple tubes and was planning to use it around all the below water seams as an extra layer of protection since i can't return it.
Bob, the 5200 should go on first and I found some paint at Lowes after West Marine couldn't get the colors I wanted in Petit Easypoxy. It's Rustoleum Marine paint and we have had great success with it. Plus it is only $11.00 a qt. versus $38.00 a qt. I should tell you that I am a signpainter and have worked with paint my whole life. I have been using the Rustoleum for 3 yrs now and with some car wax once a year it has held up well on my boat, in fact I have reglassed and overhauled everything and repainted with the Rustoleum. Warren ;D
The Rustoleum product is getting good reviews. I've used it and it's not bad, though compared to BrightSide it's not as glossy, nor "flows" out as well. It does have better coverage then BrightSide and some other "marine" modified alkyds, but I suspect it's solids content is similar.

Considering it's price and use on a trailer boat, you'll get good service from it, if you keep the boat clean and covered. I don't have any long term durability on Rustoleum, but it should be favorable. I have a cheap project (I should say cheap customer) in house now and I'll use Rustoleum on it. I'll see this boat regularly in the next few years, so . . .
What they said.