BYYB Forums

Full Version: vacationer on its side
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
In other posts, I've read that a Weekender can be righted by one person if it goes over.  Not so, however, with the Vacationer (according to the post.)  So, what's a skipper to do if his Vacationer happens to hit the drink?  Float back and watch it finally fill with water, seeing years of his life quietly slip beneath the waves?  Obviously, I'm new to the boat thing (except for canoes & kayaks.)  So there may be more options out there than I realize.  I'm still trying to decide on which boat to build, but I don't want the possibility of a capsize to be a determining factor.

David Johnson
david;

any boat can fill with water, nothing is unsinkable. however there are loads of ways to make a boat "less sinkable" as i'm sure lots of the builders here can tell you. i'm starting a skipjack, and having sailed lots of larger boats (28-38 feet) i am already looking at possible ways to add some positive floatation to my boat. these can include sealed areas that hold air, or flotation etc.

i haven't built anything from these plans yet, but after reading alot of these forums, i have no doubt you'll get great advice from the folks on this board

but as my sailing instructor told me "best way to deal with a knockdown it not getting knocked down!"

good luck with whatever you pick to build

bob
You have to do a lot of stupid stuff before getting capsized in a Vacationer. If you do capsize, she'll remain floating for some time, assuming you're not holed. Even if she does actually sink, raising a boat this size is fairly easy, assuming you have diving equipment and some eagerness to refloat the bitch that dumped you.