BYYB Forums

Full Version: Hello from Copenhagen
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3
Hi,

I am a new member here. Not even building anything yet, but dreaming of a weekender or a Super Skipjack. Need to sort out a lot of details before I can get started, from a building space (I live in a city apartment) to buying a lot of tools, to deciding which one to go for. I have a few years of sailing experience, on older wooden boats and even an old ship. But now I want something small for myself alone. Ideally just big enough to sleep one person, or to go day sailing alone, or with one friend.

Welcome aboard!!
Welcome to our virtual mess-a-bout Heikki. Build the Weekender, it's just a little more work and a lot more boat. Warren ;D
Thanks for the welcome.

I had almost decided on the weekender, but then I started to look at where to build it. I live in a city apartment, but we have a few garages on our backyard that people use for storage, or for making things. I might get one in a year if I sign up now. But it only measures 2.5 by 5.1 meters, (about 15' long), so there is no room to build a weekender there.

Besides, I figure that the smaller boat, the less work and cost to build, and to maintain. So, my current plan is to what together a Super Skipjack for now, and once I see how much I like the building and sailing, maybe do a weekender afterwards, taking my time to care for the details etc. That way I can build the Skipjack quickly without fuzzing about anything, and get to sail her sooner. And if/when I upgrade, I can reuse the sails, blocks, and many other parts. By that time I will no longer be a first-time builder, and might know what I am doing. I consider the Skipjack a kind of prototype.
Heikki,