BYYB Forums

Full Version: Another New Builder: Mini-Skipjack
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.

Jodi Auborn

Hello everyone,

I'm new on the forum and just wanted to introduce myself.  My name is Jodi, and I'm located in upstate NY, between Lakes George and Champlain.  They're both beautiful boating lakes. 

I'm making the original Mini-Skipjack (the 12' one) from the book "Sailboats You Can Build," by Peter Stevenson.  So far, I have the hull bottom and deck pieces lofted and cut out, and the bulkheads, transom, and corbels measured and ready to cut.

My father and I had built a little skipjack from this book when I was in 10th or 11th grade, so that would be about 16 or 17 years ago.  I remember that I had done the lofting and measuring, sanding, and painting, while Dad did the woodworking itself.  So, this is my first time building anything all on my own.  I have little experience using power tools, so I'm learning as I go along!  I'd like to build a Weekender at some point, but figure I should get some experience in both building and sailing before I tackle a bigger boat.

[Image: normal_Skipjack_Cricket_1994.jpg]The skipjack "Cricket," first sail.  1994.

As you can see, we didn't completely finish the boat (the rubrails, trailboard, a better-made sail, etc.)  We were going to do that after we tried it out, but never got around to it.  Unfortunately, I only got to use it once.  It floated beautifully - nothing wrong there - but it really needed a boat trailer, and I had no way to get it to a lake myself.  So it just sat in my mom's backyard for years, covered with a tarp, and it slowly rotted away. :'(  It was a shame, because we had worked hard on it.