BYYB Forums

Full Version: Newbie thinking about building sunfish/sailfish type craft
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.

jimmelo

hey there everyone.  I've always wanted to have a small sailboat for quick day trips to local lakes and maybe occassionally taking down to the shore here in NC.  I've had a lot of experience with sailboards and such so I have a basic understanding of using the wind.  Now that I have a decent sized garage at my new house and I have a pretty good set of tools (table saw, router, miter saw, hand sander, grinder, drill press, clamps, etc) I want to start building an economical "sunfish/sailfish" type boat.  I am by no means an expert woodworker I've just been able to acquire tools through a lot of luck and hand me downs. 

Any advice between these boats as to ease of build and price? 

The moon fish is stitch and glue but I am not sure how that is easier or not.  It also sounds like it is epoxy intensive which would drive up the costs.  Is that right? 

http://www.bateau.com/studyplans/MF14_st...?prod=MF14

The mini-cup has some issues with the original design plans being off but there seems to be enough consensus out there on how to fix those glitches.  These old plans also don't come with "full size" prints and I'll have to scale based on the old PDF's floating around.  The mini-cup plans are free so there's a bonus.

http://www.bateau.com/studyplans/MF14_st...?prod=MF14

The clark craft boat build 12 and the original skipjack seem good especially if I want to go out with my fiance and the dog (very good swimmer btw, doesn't seem to mind crashing waves so I don't think a boat tip would freak him out too much, if it happens). 

http://www.clarkcraft.com/cgi-local/shop...1040339985

Any recommendations between the four.  I am leaning towards the clark craft/skipjack plans.  For $31 that seems reasonable.