BYYB Forums

Full Version: hello from Romania
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
hello everybody, I'm Sorin from Romania and I'm very glad I found  this place!Big Grin
I can't turn my eyes from Vacationer since I found "her" but because I already have alot of  this material ;can I build the Vacationer's hull with 9 mm playwood? this will be in imperial system 3/8 of inch. of course I will reinforce it with some wood stringers!
I already built two little boats ;a canoe and a skiff but I guess the Vacationer can induce other problems then a little boat.
I salute you all and wait some good advice from you !
thank you!

Welcome aboard  Sorin,  like you I am new to this and also building a Vacationer, I am sure the brains trust will give a dozen reasons why not to use the 3/8” ply. The plans call for ¼” ply for the hull, so the way I see it 3/8” should by OK.  Most 3/8” ply in the states is only three ply, a thick center with two thin 1/4”Ply outside. The thought is that with heat or moisture the inner layer destroys the thin outer layers. I have used ¼” ply and have covered both sides with fiberglass.  Maybe if you do the same the 3/8” will be good. 

The plans for the Vacationer are getting a little outdated and most builders are finding ways to improve things as we go along, without changing the basic design.  I myself have raised the cabin roof
6 inches and made the front square to give more space inside, I am now trying to work on the principle of “keep it simple and don’t over think things”  the way I see it I am building a boat to enjoy sailing not a museum piece. I gave myself six months to get the boat in the water, I am a little behind schedule but hope to catch up.

Almost all the questions you will have, as you build you will find the answers to on the old boards , if not shout out and you with receive all the help you need. Good luck ,be sure to post pictures as you go along.