BYYB Forums

Full Version: Wing Dinghy Tips???
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.

Donald Stewart

I am new to this and looking for some help.
I will be building a Stevenson Wing Dinghy when the weather is better.
Does anybody have any tips, tricks, shortcuts or any advice to make
construction go as smooth as possible?
Hi,
I noticed no one's replied to this thread yet so I wanted to just say Hi. I know that Konrad (posts mostly on the Messing About forum) built a Wing-Dinghy using very light materials. I never heard how that project worked out, but I suspect he and others there might have some comments.

Mike
I didn't build a Wing Dinghy, I built another small Steverson's design, the Triad.  The only advice I would give is:

1- If you want it to last and are the type (like me) that frets over the details and wants it near perfect then use good marine plywood, the better grades and types of other materials and don't worry about it taking a bit longer then others think it should.  Especially if it is your first boat.

2- If you just want a nice boat and want to get sailing then get local plywoood, other materials and get cutting, gluing and sanding.

3- Strongly consider using epoxy with fillers for all your gluing needs where durability and waterproofing are factors.  Don't worry if you haven't used it before.  The information about epoxy on this forum is enough to qualify you for an honorary doctorate degree in gluology.