BYYB Forums

Full Version: Any SF BAY AREA Builders???
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi...new to this forum...have been drooling over the boats and info on the Weekender site and getting ready to buy plans...

I have never built a boat but I am a woodworker living in Napa CA...close to the SF BAY...hoping to hook up with some owners/builders near me...would love to visit and see a boat...learn about places to sail and learn...and see a weekender/vacationer in person...

Not sure which plans to go with...vacationer or weekender...

Thanks for any ideas and help,

matt
Hi and welcome aboard!  I don't live in the SF area but there's a map of BYYB members on the internet and that might give you a name of someone that does.  Here's the link: http://www.mapservices.org/myguestmap/sh...do?id=BYYB

Good luck and enjoy the build.
Hi Matt,
There are a lot of great places I wished I'd explored more in the SF area. We sailed out in Tomales and it's GREAT. Sausalito would be ideal to poke around, also Alameda. I always expected that Petaluma and the run out to the bay would be interesting too. The lakes east of you are pretty good-szed too, if I remember right, but I also recall a lot of skiboats.

Weekender/Vacationer? I'd choose the Weekender unless you really think you'll be sailing with 3-4 people often. 1-2 people would be more the Weekender's style. Three people fit nicely on a Weekender, but you can begin to feel the weight difference in performance with three aboard.

Mike
Thanks guys...

I am a history teacher who has gotten into woodworking in Napa CA...and there was a person on Lumberjocks.com (mike i started a post on your site/plans you should check out LJ's...) who was making a boat using classic boat building...since I know nothing I was intrigued...