BYYB Forums

Full Version: Epoxy questions
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
1)  Is there any usable solvent for mixed epoxy or resin and hardener individually?  I'm not looking to thin it, just clean smears etc.

2)  If I need to soak a piece to get a tight curve, can I epoxy glue the part while damp, or must it be completely dry?  Since the hardening is a chemical reaction, I would think gluing while damp is OK.

Dave
Some people have had good results with household vinegar but acetone - if you're willing to put up with the fumes and handle it safely is the standard solvent.

I'm not an expert on bending wood and any attempts that I have made have failed horribly.  BUT from what I understand it's actually the heat more so than the moisture that makes the wood bend.  Since epoxy curing is a chemical reation as you already know, this would speed it up.  The only thing the moisture would do to the epoxy is hurt it's ability to penetrate saturated wood - I think.  Others know lots more about this than I do though and will hopefully chime in.  What I actually ended up doing for the parts that needed a tight curve light the stringers at the stern of the Weekender and the coamings was to just use a larger piece of wood and make the compound cuts out of that.
(10-16-2009, 10:25 AM)Dave Blake link Wrote: [ -> ]1)  Is there any usable solvent for mixed epoxy or resin and hardener individually?  I'm not looking to thin it, just clean smears etc.

2)  If I need to soak a piece to get a tight curve, can I epoxy glue the part while damp, or must it be completely dry?  Since the hardening is a chemical reaction, I would think gluing while damp is OK.

Dave

White vinegar can be used to clean up epoxy on your hands on brushes, etc.  

I'm unsure about damp but I would not.