BYYB Forums

Full Version: A new member from near the Arctic Circle in Finland
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hello everybody,

my name is Timo Knuuttila, but I am not the one with the pretty steam launch as someone suspected in a post. We share the name and the enthusiasm for boats, but we are two differnt persons.

I have been dreaming of a small schooner since 1987, when a Finnish magazine published an article about Bill Atkin featuring the plans of America Junior. I fell in love with the design right away.

At that time I was in m y early thirties, father of three small kids and the IT manager of a paper mill. There was no way I could have had the time to build a boat, although I knew my way with wood and woodworking tools. I had been building things with my Dad since I was five, including a couple of log houses.

I kept dreaming and used my brother´s power cruiser on holidays. I realized that America Jr was too small for my family and found nice power cruisers in Atkin´s cataloque. I also contacted John Atkin and ordered several study plans of different powecruisers, including a couple that were 39 feet to accomodate my family that had grown to four kids. Still working like crazy, no time to do much more than dreaming late at night after coming home from the office.

to be continued . . .
At some point I was without a job and there was enough time but no money!  Sad  There were a few iterations of money-but-no-time vs time-but-no-money and we ended up with an arrangement of a shared GRP power cruiser.

During those ten years I learnt that only three of my (now five) kids were actually interested in boating. But they are total boat nuts like their Dad: the worse the conditions, the darker the night the more they enjoy it. Mom is the passanger in the boat when she joins and she likes it that way  ;D