BYYB Forums

Full Version: Land locked for now
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Ahoy.  I've been enjoying the site for a while know but thought I might as well say hi.
I ran accross the Stevenson's new Skipjack site over a year ago and waited patiently for
the plans to come out.  I just kind of fell for the lines of the boat.  It looks fast
and fun.  I did consider the Triad as it looked like a really stable boat and didn't
require a trailer.  Something I'm concerned about as I have no sailing experience and
I wan't to be able to go out safely with my ten year old son.  I figured this may be the
only boat I ever build so I might as well go for the one I really want.  I started building
on Aug. 8th and I know of plenty of things already that I could have done better.  I can
see how past experience can shave many hours off build time.  This is my progress so far.
I've just gotten started but I've considered shelving the project already unil spring before
I start assembling.  The fall weather has come on fast and I'm going to want my garage back
for my car.  I thought it might be better leaving everything inside as opposed to having to tarp
it up  outside for the winter.  On the other hand I know there is some more nice weekends to
come in the next 2 months.