BYYB Forums

Full Version: New Member with stange ideas!!
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.

James Long

Ok, I admit....I'm a unique person (more unique than most).

I'm working on a project.....

A modified Dragonfly II that I'm planning to put foils on.

The boat is going to be converted to an inboard.....which will be a 150cc motorcycle engine. I want to do water cooling, but I do not have a water cooled engine right now. So to start...I'm going to use the air cooled one I have.

I'm working in Autodesk Inventor changing the design for my purpose. I have to admit, I'm an not a marine engineer. More of a shade tree designer.

The design is coming along, but I have found a few things I didn't plan. Like a water cooled exhaust with a lift type muffler.

Also, finding a prop in the size I figure I need is also a problem. I figure a 8 x 8 prop, or 9 x 8 prop or there abouts to start.

The project should be interesting......even if I do waste my time. I figure I will learn something from the experience.

I hope it works out.......

J Long
Not so strange.  I have seen projects like this before.  I have a few questions though.

There are numerous boats called a dragonfly, both power and sail.  Could you be more specific; give us some specs. length, beam, maker, so on.

Is this engine going to be completely open to the air, or enclosed?  The difference significantly affects the modifications you will have to make to the engine to use it on a boat.  Contrary to what you may think, dumping any old engine in a boat may be life threatening.

I'm not saying it can't be done, in fact it has been done.  But there are considerations.

What kind of foils, fully submerged, surface piercing, ladder foils, ?

Data. Not enough data.

James Long

Peter,