BYYB Forums

Full Version: epoxy or Bondo?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I know this is an old question, but I'm wondering about the best way to fill holes and gaps in my Pocket Cruiser prior to fiberglassing.  In the Stevenson's Weekender DVD, joints, gaps and screws are filled with Bondo, but I get the impression that Bondo can weaken over time and that most people prefer epoxy fillers.

If that's the case, my question is this: What kind of epoxy filler should I use? Specifically, what brands do you recommend? I know the topic of epoxy brands was recently discussed, but I'm wondering if the kind of epoxy used as a filler is different from the kind used when fiberglassing the hull. Remember, I'm a complete beginner and have never used anything but hardware store brand epoxy (usually to fix broken plates and the like), so I'm mystified by epoxy in general. I'm many steps away from fiberglassing, but I am about to attach the sides and I want to fill the holes and voids in the cabin area before they are too hard to reach.
Use the same brand of epoxy that you used for everything else. Use a mixture of micro balloons or Qcells and a little silica (to stiffen the mix). Mash it into the hole with a putty knife, plastic applicator or some prefer to squirt it in with a syringe or squeeze bottle. I find squirting it in, with a thick mixture is too much trouble, so I use the smash and goo technique.
Paul, Thanks! I'll follow the advice provided on the previous thread about brands. Duckworks sells an epoxy kit that includes "wood flour" as the thickener. Would that work?
Paul, You can make your own using a belt sander and a peice of wood of the kind you will be making the fillets or glueing together.

I can't remember the kind of expoxy that I used to make my Whitehall, but I got it here: