BYYB Forums

Full Version: I'm Insured!
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I just got off the phone with my insurance broker.  After about a year of back-and-forth (rural business people don't tend to hurry) it turns out that my Weekender is covered under my home-owner's policy.  Now if I scuff the paint on someone's yot or accidentally run over a jet ski, I'm covered.

The actual coverage on the boat itself is minimal but that wasn't my worry.
That's pretty standard if under a certain value, but always good to check Smile
I'm a surveyor for the largest yacht insurer in the country. One of the dirty little secrets they don't tell you about insurance, home owners or specialized boat policies is that almost all claims will be not their responsibility.

Lets say you boat sinks because a leaf fell into your boat and kept the bilge pump switch from operating (a fairly common issue). You'd think this might be an "act of God" being that you couldn't prevent the leaf from boarding your boat. It's not and you're liable for damages. Lets say the trusty engine you'd been using for a few years, still well below it's maximum hours before service, suddenly takes a dump. You're at full speed in the middle of a marina or mooring field, when the engine quits, with the resulting explosion (a little drama for color) also jams the rudder and you T bone a mega yacht, with your sprit, making a big hole. You're liable.

Darn near every event that can befall you, will be your liability, less of course an anvil falls from the sky and takes out your foredeck. It's usually a "catch phrase" under maintenance or operator responsibilities.