BYYB Forums

Full Version: New Member/Racine, WI
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.

Gregory Heath

Hi, Just joined. I like the Pocket Cruiser. I live on Lake Michigan. Will this boat work for coastal cruising?
I just sold a 30' Hunter Sailboat, and want something I can trailer to lakes like Lake Geneva, and also go out on Lake Michigan on the calm days.
I really want a Pocket Cruiser under 19 feet that can do it all...if the Pocket Cruiser is not it...somebody give me some ideas.
I went to the Stevenson site, and see I cannot order the plans.
Is this just a temporary thing...?

Great forum...I look forward to meeting everybody.

Greg
Welcome Gregory, while I am not an expert on the Pocket cruiser, I have been on one and they appear to be pretty stable. However as far as coastal cruising you would need someone who has built ones opinion as I have no idea.
I am sure someone will chime in here and help answer your questions.
Again welcome to the madness, just jump on in and ask away. If you do decide to build, please share your experience and possibly a photo or two of your progress with us.

Brian.
Welcome aboard Gregory, I guess I am your P/C man. The P/C is a stable little boat. Easy to trailor launch and rig. O.K. for coastel crusing but not a big water boat. I have had mine in the gulf but not in 15 ft. seas. My P/C is standard size, if I were you I would build 12.5 to 15% over size. You will still be under 20'. If you deside on the P/C we will go to work on getting some plans from the stevensons or some info on where to get some. We have three members in the southeast fleet who have built P/C's. So we should be able to answer most questions. Go to the photo gal. section on the board to look at a couple. Bud Smile

Gregory Heath