BYYB Forums

Full Version: New Member from Italy
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi,

My name is Gianluigi and I live in North Italy near the widest and deepest Italian lake, Lago di Garda. I have a very basic sailboat experience (since now I took only two lesson when I applied for navigation licence), but I am a quite expert windsurfer, that remain  absolutely my favourite water sport.

I started my Weekender construction at the end of March 2009. In this moment the external lower part (untill first rubrails) is ready and painted, the upper is fiberglassed while inside of the cabin and ofthe front bay there is still at raw wood state.

This is basically my first real boat contruction (last summer I built a “One sheet Skiff” just for training), therefore I have introduced very few modification to the original design.
One common variation is the employ of epoxy resin for fiberglassing.
Another quite usual personalization is in the rudder wheel set up. I maintained the wheel, but I made the rudder box detachable from the tiller (in order keep overall length shorter) and I found my way to make a “better” tensioning system. When all this will be tested I’ll come back to you with some pictures.
I increased the cabin heigth (quite common, I think) and also the sides (not so common). I did this last simply because I had available larger plywood panels and I decided to keep the same waterline and to raise a little gunwales from the deck.
I built also  a simple hollow mast. May original intention was to use a standard mast cut off from stock, but someone adviced my to cut the rough beam in two longitudinal parts and then to joint them upside-down. This would have preserved mast from natural deformations, being internal stresses counterbalanced.