BYYB Forums

Full Version: Aye Mates
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.

John Crow

Greetings BYBB's,

My name is John Crow.
I am an interior trim carpenter from Boulder Co. and am going to build the weekender, have my plans and am starting to stockpile lumber.
I am hoping somebody can answer a couple questions for me.
#1 I dont want to use any fiberglass and recall seeing somewhere that you dont have to use glass if you want to go that route: Is this true?
#2 Have been brainstorming on how to make the entire deck and cabin roof have the strip plank look. I dont really favor the saw kerf idea because there will still be obvious lines at the plywood joints. Was thinking about milling down a light colored wood to 3/8ths x 3 inch then join the planks together somehow and cut out with the lofted (full) pattern and a router set on the specified angle. I have no experience with the difference in tolorances and weight though so I figured this forum would be the place to start.
#3 The biggest question of all. Who has the best prices on quality brass screws, Epoxies, Marine ply and hardware for a guy who lives inland.

As an interior trim carpenter, mainly working on custom homes in the 2-10 million range, I am extremely meticulouse. please keep this in mind when making your suggestions.
Thanks in advance everyone, looking forward to becoming a BYBB!
Welcome John, it's good to see a new builder out there. You'll love the weekender. Now for your questions. Use glass! It's a pain to put on, it's a itch to sand and it raises the cost of the boat. It also keeps the boat from rotting away, it gives the boat strength, it gives the boat a smooth finish and without the glass the plywood will split apart opening up places for water to get into the wood giving you a boat that you will be constantly working on the keep it afloat and looking good. I hated glassing but I'm sure glad that I did it.