BYYB Forums

Full Version: Possibly Blasphemy but here goes...
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
I know a lot of folks alter their designs and do some customization.

What i was wondering was, has anyone ever taken a vacationer and modified the design from a flat bottomed boat to a v-bottom or multichined hull, adding some internal ballast, and making the craft a little more substantial.

After speaking with several folks who love their vacationer but lament the fact that it is a small water only/fair weather only craft, I was wondering if their interest in the boat might have lasted longer with this sort of alteration in design.

I am not a boat designer and have no intentions attempting such a vast redesign myself.

I was just wondering if anyone had thought of the idea.

I know it trades convenience and beach-ability for other traits.

Paul Ricelli, any thoughts one way or the other on this?

Thanks,

Dave G.

James Sanders

Ahoy David,

Our modifications are probably as extensive as anyone has yet to do. and we may regret the changes we made once the boat is on the water. I rather think, however, that will not be the case.

Some modifications are OK, and some are not; at least that's my understanding. Whether or not the changes you propose fall into the last category or not, I would not be qualified to say.

Our boat is considerably larger than the standard Vacationer; at least that's what Craig Gleason has said. Never having seen a Vacationer, I can only surmise what the differences might be. Our cockpit is larger because of how we built it; we did add some 18 inches or so to the length of the sole. We have a very massive keel, compared to the original Stevenson design. Paul Riccelli was kind enough to design the keel, and he used several mathematical formulae to come up with a design.