BYYB Forums

Full Version: Another new builder/sailer
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hi. I am new to boat building, sailing (other then a couple of rides where I held the lines) and this forum. After retiring, in 1998, the idea of sailing became a goal. After reading some sailing mags and searching the internet, building a small sailboat became a dream. After deciding on making that sailboat from a Stevenson set of plans this forum became a bookmark. Then my wife walked out of the bathroom, in 1999, smiling and fatherhood became my reality.

Now, seven years later, the idea of building and sailing are once again prevalent. So in pursuit of those dreams I have ordered 2 sets of Stevenson's plans, one Triad and one Super-Skipjack. My intent is to build the Triad first then after some sailing and introspection the Super-Skipjack. With a bit of luck, some kind advice and a lot of work I hope to turn the dreams to reality.

Mark_Benbow

Welcome aboard Terry I'm sure you will be warmingly greeted I'm quite new to the forum myself but still found a community ready and willing to help with all thier experience. Its a great place to learn from people and to turn to when you make a booboo!
Thanks for the welcome. Since my last post I received the plans I had ordered. Unfortunately they were the wrong plans. The Triad plans are as ordered and seem very straight forward. The Skipjack plans were the older version, not the new Super-Skipjack.

I am attempting to contact the Stevensons. The phone number on the site is disconnected so email is the only method of contact. I remember reading in the forum that they were moving or something?

At any rate I will try and locate the different things on the Triad materials list and clear a spot in the shop. I live in Montana so finding anything other then "standard" is a challenge.