BYYB Forums

Full Version: intro duction and boat law question
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2

Ryan_Martori

Hi my name is Ryan I am new to boat building and sailing, I decided to of course start by building a small mini cup and then save up to build a pocket yacht(thinking Vacationer)

Anyways before I actually ask question about building. I have been wondering about boat laws. I have been searching but can't find anything clear abotu registration and boater's liscenses and such, the only thing I found only applied if the boat had a motor.

And one of my friends mentioned that there are laws in regards to how you can paint a boat which is why all boats that you can buy are white.

and last question(till my absentminded brain remembers more)

About how much does it cost to build a mini cup? (I was probably going to jsut use acx plywood)

hope you guys can help.

thank you
Welcome Aboard Ryan.
I think the law is, if You dont have a motor you dont have to register the boat.
As far as color You can paint Your boat any color You want too, I am painting My Vacationer Black, and have seen plenty of differant colored boats (especially around here).
Post some pictures of your build as You go along.
Good luck with Your build.
Brian.
Not sure about your state, but Tennessee requires sail powered boats to also be registered. We have to get an HIN (hull identification number) and register the boat. Don't know anything about the color thing, there's nothing in our reg's about it. I recommend that you check your state's regulatory agency. In Tennessee, that's the Tennessee Wildlife Resources agency. Google {state} boating regulations and it should pop up.

kenconnors